D20 Modern Horror : An Introduction

Alright let me start by saying that this has turned out to be a much longer undertaking than I had initially expected, I haven’t even finished all the classes and I am already up to 14 pages *facepalm*. But that’s not important right now, what is important is getting across the tone and direction I am heading in with this set of D20-based rules.

I have always wanted to play a game that had the same feel as my favourite horror movies and books; Aliens, Evil Dead 2, Predator, Hellraiser, Stinger, Cube, Jurassic Park (yes the first book is definitely a horror novel, one word… live disembowelment), Phantoms (the book NOT the movie), Darkfall, etc etc etc. The game had to have tough competent but flawed Protagonists with the capability (combined with a lot of luck) to overcome the unfathomable evil they faced. And it had to be exciting and fast-paced while still being detailed and serialized.

Well I never did find the exact game I was looking for, so I decided to try my hand at making it. What you are about to read is the results. I expect there will be additions to the core mechanics that I am going to provide and it is a living document so if any of you out there have ideas for additions or see problems that I missed please feel free to let me know in the comments. After all I want this to play like an intense thrilling action-horror movie/book.

PS: While I believe it is easy enough to use my character classes in any D20 Modern campaign, they are best suited for the combat rules I shall be posting later since they do tend to be on the over-powered side for a normal setting.

Leave a Reply

